How to stop being frustrated and angry

Frustration and anger are incredibly draining emotions. Usually it is because you are faced with a situation you can’t control or wish you had handled differently. Not only do these emotions drain our energy they can also affect our loved ones.

I have spent too many years getting angry if things don’t go my way or when I see an injustice in the world. Too much of my focus has been on how things should be rather than how they are. If I hear a story of an abused child or a big corporation exploiting people in developing countries I get angry. I want to do something to help but feel powerless about what I could possibly do. In my own home I get incredibly frustrated when my husband walks in and leaves his shoes and work clothes all over the house. It upsets me because I like to live in a clean, uncluttered home and I don’t. What I’ve learnt is that I need to stop stressing about things I cannot control.

I cannot control the actions of other people, or large corporations, and neither can you. If I wanted to, I could probably get a law degree and go all Erin Brockovich on their asses, but frankly that’s not what I want to spend my life doing. I also don’t want to spend the rest of my life frustrated to the point where I end up bitter and jaded in my old age. This is definitely NOT what I want.

So I’m learning to take a deep breath and let it go. I could get angry with my husband and see his messiness as insensitive or I could accept that he is a messy person, realise that it’s not personal, and ignore it. I can turn off the news and redirect my time to things that matter to me. I have begun to understand that no matter how I feel the clock keeps ticking. I would rather spend my time happy and calm than pent up with negative emotions. Letting go of negative emotions is a choice. It’s not an easy choice and there are things you can do to help in the process however, the first step is making the decision to be happy.

Leave a Reply

