What does being minimalist mean to me?

In short minimalism for me is an ideal. It’s something to strive towards all the while ensuring that I don’t throw the baby out with the bath water. I certainly don’t want to live out of a suitcase or only own 100 things but I do want to downsize my life to the point where I am not overwhelmed by my possessions and responsibilities.

While I have been making small steps towards this lifestyle, my husband is not convinced. You see, he is a collector by nature and content to have the house overrun by possessions and clutter. As you can imagine this drives me absolutely crazy at times. However, I have come to understand that I cannot convince him to live a minimalist lifestyle, only live my life as minimalist as I can, and in doing so, hopefully inspire him to do a little downsizing of his own.

Leave a Reply

