I feel rich when…

There was an article in the paper this morning that discussed the definition of being rich. The author suggested that richness can be found in the simple pleasures of life rather than in monetary wealth and in the appreciation of what we have in the developed world. This is not a new concept. However, I liked her spin on the topic. Throughout the article she uses the catch-cry “I feel rich when…” to describe occasions in her life that bring her a feeling of abundance. So in the spirit of feeling wealthy…

I feel rich when I step into a hot shower. I feel rich when I enjoy a cup of tea on the verandah with a new magazine or novel. I feel rich when I can spread out on a picnic blanket and soak up the sun in the park. I feel rich when I open a new notebook and begin writing on the first page. I feel rich when someone calls me for a chat and we end up talking for an hour. I feel rich when I leave the supermarket with this week’s groceries. I feel rich when I have the choice of health providers and access to the medicine I need. I feel rich when I can turn on the heater on a cold night and get a good night’s sleep.

When do you feel rich?

 

Leave a Reply

