Theme for the New Year

Given that it’s almost New Years Eve it is now time to decide on a New Years Resolution. Considering that I didn’t do so well this year in following my resolutions I’ve decided not to make any firm resolutions this time around. Instead, I’m taking Gretchen Rubin’s advice and setting a theme for the year.

This year’s theme will be action.

While I’m very good at analysing situations I’m often too consumed with thinking the situation over than putting a plan into action. I’m nowhere near as decisive as I used to be and as a result it takes me longer to achieve anything. I usually want to make sure I choose the right option from the multitude on offer and then execute it perfectly the first time. In my quest for perfection I end up exactly where I started without any results from all that thinking. So this year I intend to get faster at decision making and spend more time doing things rather than consuming or analysing.

All know the way; few actually walk it.  ~Bodhidharma

This year I intend to start walking.

Leave a Reply

